YIN Day

YIN DayYIN

The annual YIN Day is the event where current members and alumni get together – joined by long-standing friends and supporters of the network. They are connected by the goal to make a positive impact on shaping the future of society through science. YIN alumni have themselves started off as junior research group leaders or junior professors on temporary contracts and have by now become distinguished scientific leaders in academia or industry. In the YIN spirit of comradery and trust, they share past experiences and personal anecdotes as well as forming new acquaintances and scientific bonds.

Impressions from previous YIN Days
Science WalkYIN Day 2020 with Prof. Rebecca Harrington - a successful hybrid event

The two highlights of the day were a science walk through the Hardtwald and an invited talk by YIN alumna Rebecca Harrington, professor at the Ruhr University Bochum. During the walk, YIN members and alumni presented their research in short pitches. Between each station, there was plenty of open space for discussion and networking. The first ideas for joined projects have, thus, been born. Rebecca Harrington’s talk on “Using a-typical seismic signals to understand the earthquake problem” concluded the afternoon's online program. A-typical earthquakes occur in unusual depths in the fault zone or away from active plate boundaries.

Impressions
liquid glassYIN Day 2019 combined with a lecture by YIN Alumnus Prof. Bastian Rapp

The 11th YIN anniversary started with a workshop on Digital Self-Marketing, followed by a working lunch with poster session. One Highlight was the YIN Lecture by YIN alumnus Bastian Rapp. Now professor at the University of Freiburg, he was recently awarded one of the prestigious Consolidator Grants of the European Research Council ERC. He spoke about Advanced Materials for Additive Manufacturing and 3D-printing in glass - for which he is particularly known since his Nature publication in 2017. An informal get-together afterwards encouraged networking.

10 years YINYIN Day 2018 - 10th Anniversary of the Young Investigator Network

YIN has been on a success story for 10 years! Special thanks go to the friends and supporters of the YIN who have accompanied the network over long distances. We were very happy to see many familiar faces at YIN Day 2018. Highlights of the public program were a scientific keynote lecture by YIN Alumna Erin Koos, professor at the KU Leuven, and a panel discussion on "Careers in Science - Fostering Research"; with selected representatives of the major external funding agencies and university policy. Thank you very much for coming!

Impressions YIN Day 2018
YIN Day 2017YIN Day 2016 - business etiquette, poster session, and career talk

After a workshop on business etiquette and an interactive poster session, the day was topped off with an inspiring talk given by Georg von Freymann. As a former YIN member and current professor of physics at the University of Kaiserslautern, Freymann reflected on his detouring efforts to become professor, gave insights into bizarre appointment procedures and offered advice on how to deal with setbacks.

more
YIN Day 2015YIN Day 2015 - experience talks: different pathways to success

The choices and premises that lead to “different pathways to success” were in the focus at this year's YIN Day. As special guests, YIN welcomed its alumni Dominik Möst, professor for economics at the TU Dresden, and Timo Mappes, Senior Vice President Innovation at Carl Zeiss Vision International GmbH. Amongst them and the YIN members developed a fruitful discussion about different career options in academia and industry as well as the steps taken to obtain these goals.

more
YIN-Day 2014 (Foto: Karina Scholpp, YIN)YIN Day 2014 - Clusters, Science Awards, and talk by YIN-Alumnus Prof. Christof Eberl

This year's YIN-Day offered a platform for lively discussions, amplified by a poster session, presentations of the new YIN-Clusters and the YIN-Science Awards as well as an invited talk by YIN-Alumnus Prof. Chris Eberl.

Short Review15.10.2015
Foto: A. Drollinger, PKM/KITYIN Day 2013 - 5th Anniversary celebrated with more than 200 guests

On October 12, 2013, under the patronage of the former President of KIT, Prof. Umbach, and the Minister of Science, Research and the Arts, Ms. Theresia Bauer, YIN celebrated its 5th anniversary in the Audimax of KIT with a very diversified program. At the ceremonial act in the afternoon, YIN could inspire more than 220 guests with the original presentation of its own history. The exciting keynote speech by YIN alumna Katja Schmitz and the top-class panel discussion on the topic of "Scientific Career" rounded off the afternoon.

Mehr
YIN Day 2012YIN Day 2012 strengthens the connection between members and alumni

This year the YIN annual meeting focused on the networking aspect between YIN members and alumni and consolidated their connection to KIT. Within an amicable atmosphere it gives the opportunity to exchange scientific, professional and private experience. A highlight was the talk by YIN alumnus Prof. Dominik Möst.

more
YIN Day 2011YIN DAY 2011 with first awarding of the "Academic Leadership Certificate"

The first YIN Day with alumni took place on September 23/24, 2011 - three years after the founding of the Young Investigator Network (YIN). The event serves to strengthen and expand the networking of its members and alumni and to refresh their connections to KIT. In the Torbogensaal of the Botanical Garden, the participants were given ample opportunity to exchange current experiences in scientific and professional fields. As a highlight, the KIT Presidium awarded the "Academic Leadership" certificate for the first time to successful graduates of the YIN continuing education program.

more
Founding CeremonyFoundation Ceremony of the Young Investigator Network on May 12, 2009

On May 12, 2009 the Young Investigator Network (YIN) celebrated its foundation. This network is the first initiative of this kind throughout Germany and a forum for excellent young scientists. YIN is to serve as platform and democratic representation of interests. Highlight was the panel discussion „Perspectives of the Academic Future Leaders Today" with guest from the German Research Foundation (DFG), the ETH Zurich, and BASF.

Link_more
YIN Founding membersFounding of the Young Investigator Network in May 2008

The goal of YIN consists in increasing the attractiveness of KIT for young scientists and especially in supporting junior research group leaders by an extensive coaching and mentoring program for encouraging their personal and professional advancement. The first steps have already been taken successfully: the tailor-made leadership and didactics courses for the YIN members have been created and participants are enthusiastic about the benefits. The tasks of the YIN are funded by the first German Excellence Initiative.

more

YIN Day

YIN DayYIN

Der jährliche YIN-Day ist die Veranstaltung, bei der aktuelle Mitglieder und Alumni zusammenkommen - begleitet von langjährigen Freunden und Unterstützern des Netzwerks. Sie verbindet das Ziel, die Zukunft der Gesellschaft durch Wissenschaft positiv mitgestalten zu wollen. YIN-Alumni haben selbst als Nachwuchsgruppenleiter oder Juniorprofessoren mit befristeten Verträgen begonnen und sind inzwischen herausragende wissenschaftliche Führungspersönlichkeiten in Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Im YIN-Geist der Kameradschaft und des Vertrauens tauschen sie Erfahrungen und persönliche Anekdoten aus der Vergangenheit aus und knüpfen neue Bekanntschaften sowie wissenschaftliche Verbindungen.

Impressions from previous YIN Days
Science WalkYIN Day 2020 mit Prof. Rebecca Harrington - ein Hybrid-Event

Die beiden Höhepunkte des Tages waren ein Wissenschafts-Spaziergang durch den Hardtwald und ein eingeladener Vortrag von YIN-Alumna Rebecca Harrington, Professorin an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Während des Spaziergangs stellten YIN-Mitglieder und Alumni ihre Forschung in kurzen Pitches vor. Zwischen den einzelnen Stationen gab es viel offenen Raum für Diskussionen und Networking. So sind bereits erste Ideen für gemeinsame Projekte entstanden. Der Vortrag von Rebecca Harrington zum Thema "Using a-typical seismic signals to understand the earthquake problem" schloss das Online-Programm des Nachmittags ab.

Impressionen
YIN Day 2019YIN Day 2019 kombiniert mit einem Vortrag von YIN Alumnus Prof. Bastian Rapp

Das 11. YIN-Jubiläum begann mit einem Workshop zum Thema Digitales Selbstmarketing, gefolgt von einem Working Lunch mit Postersession. Highlight war die YIN Lecture von YIN-Alumnus Bastian Rapp. Er ist jetzt Professor an der Universität Freiburg und wurde kürzlich mit einem der prestigeträchtigen Consolidator Grants des Europäischen Forschungsrats ERC ausgezeichnet. Er sprach über Advanced Materials for Additive Manufacturing und 3D-Druck in Glas - wofür er seit seiner Nature-Publikation 2017 besonders bekannt ist. Ein informelles Get-together im Anschluss förderte das Networking.

10 Jahre YIN8. Okt: Öffentliche Feier zum 10. YIN Jubiläum

YIN schreibt seit 10 Jahren Erfolgsgeschichte! Besonderer Dank gilt den Freunden und Unterstützern des YIN, die das Netzwerk über weite Strecken begleitet haben. Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, beim YIN Day 2018 viele bekannte Gesichter zu sehen. Höhepunkte des öffentlichen Programms waren ein wissenschaftlicher Festvortrag von YIN Alumna Prof. Erin Koos, KU Löwen, und die Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema "Karriere in der Wissenschaft – Forschung fördern" mit ausgewählten VertreterInnen der großen Drittmittelgeber und aus der Hochschulpolitik. Herzlichen Dank für Ihr kommen!

Impressionen YIN Day 2018
Business etiquetteYIN Day 2016 - Business-Knigge, Poster-Session und Karriere-Talk

Nach einem Workshop zur Business-Etikette und einer interaktiven Postersession wurde der Tag mit einem inspirierenden Vortrag von Prof. Georg von Freymann abgerundet. Als ehemaliges YIN-Mitglied und heutiger Physikprofessor an der Universität Kaiserslautern reflektierte Freymann seine Umwege zur Professur, gab Einblicke in skurrile Berufungsverfahren und Ratschläge, wie man mit Rückschlägen umgehen kann.

Link_more
YIN Day 2015YIN Day 2015 - Erfahrungsaustausch: Unterschiedliche Wege zum Erfolg

Die Entscheidungen und Prämissen, die zu "verschiedenen Wegen zum Erfolg" führen, standen beim diesjährigen YIN-Tag im Mittelpunkt. Als besondere Gäste begrüßte YIN seine Alumni Dominik Möst, Professor für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der TU Dresden, und Timo Mappes, Senior Vice President Innovation bei Carl Zeiss Vision International GmbH. Zwischen ihnen und den YIN-Mitgliedern entwickelte sich eine fruchtbare Diskussion über verschiedene Karrieremöglichkeiten in Wissenschaft und Industrie sowie die Schritte, die man unternimmt, um diese Ziele zu erreichen.

mehr
YIN-Collage (Foto: YIN)"YIN-Day 2014" - Mitglieder treffen Alumni

Der diesjährige YIN-Day bot lebhafte Diskussionen, ergänzt von einer Postersession, Präsentationen der neuen YIN-Cluster und YIN-Science Awards sowie einem Gastvortrag von YIN-Alumnus Prof. Christoph Eberl.

Kurzer Rückblick15.10.2015
5 Jahre YIN5 Jahre YIN

Am 12. Oktober 2013 feierte das YIN unter der Schirmherrschaft des ehemaligen Präsidenten des KIT, Herrn Prof. Umbach, und der Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, Frau Theresia Bauer, im Audimax des KIT mit einem sehr abwechslungsreichen Programm sein 5-jähriges Bestehen. Beim Festakt am Nachmittag konnte das YIN durch die originelle Darstellung der eigenen Geschichte über 220 Gäste begeistern. Der spannende Festvortrag von YIN-Alumna Katja Schmitz und die hochkarätig besetzte Podiumsrunde zum Thema „Wissenschaftliche Karriere“ rundeten den Nachmittag ab.

Mehr
YIN Day 2012YIN Day 2012 stärkt die Verbindung zwischen Mitgliedern und Alumni

In diesem Jahr stand beim YIN-Jahrestreffen der Vernetzungsaspekt zwischen YIN-Mitgliedern und Alumni im Vordergrund und festigte die Verbindung zum KIT. In freundschaftlicher Atmosphäre bot sich Gelegenheit zum wissenschaftlichen, beruflichen und privaten Erfahrungsaustausch. Ein Highlight war der Vortrag von YIN-Alumnus Prof. Dominik Möst.

more
YIN Day 2011YIN-DAY 2011

Der erste YIN Day fand am 23./24. September 2011 statt - drei Jahre nach Gründung des Young Investigator Network (YIN). Die Veranstaltung dient der Stärkung und des Ausbaus der Vernetzung seiner Mitglieder und Alumni sowie der Wiederauffrischung ihrer Verbindungen zum KIT. Im Torbogensaal des Botanischen Gartens erhielten die Teilnehmer ausreichend Gelegenheit, aktuelle Erfahrungen in wissenschaftlichen und beruflichen Bereichen auszutauschen. Als Höhepunkt verlieh das Präsidium des KIT erstmalig das Zertifikat "Academic Leadership" an erfolgreiche Absolventen des YIN-Weiterbildungsprogrammes.

more
PodiumsdiskussionGründungsveranstaltung des Young Investigator Network am 12. Mai 2009

Am 12. Mai 2009 feierte das Young Investigator Network (YIN) seine Gründung. Das Netzwerk ist die erste Initiative dieser Art in ganz Deutschland und ein Forum für exzellente junge Wissenschaftler. YIN soll als Plattform und demokratische Interessenvertretung dienen. Höhepunkt war die Podiumsdiskussion "Perspektiven des akademischen Nachwuchses heute" mit Gästen von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), der ETH Zürich und der BASF.

mehr
GründungsmitgliederGründung des Young Investigator Network im Mai 2008

Das Ziel von YIN besteht darin, die Attraktivität des KIT für Nachwuchswissenschaftler zu erhöhen und insbesondere Nachwuchsgruppenleiter durch ein umfangreiches Coaching- und Mentorenprogramm bei ihrer persönlichen und beruflichen Weiterentwicklung zu unterstützen. Die ersten Schritte wurden bereits erfolgreich unternommen: Die maßgeschneiderten Führungs- und Didaktikkurse für die YIN-Mitglieder sind erstellt und die Teilnehmer sind begeistert. Die Aufgaben des YIN werden aus Mitteln der ersten deutschen Exzellenzinitiative finanziert.

more